Gary Stager

Thanks to Tim at Assorted Stuff for introducing me to Gary Stager.  He’s been saying everything I always wanted to about the techno-evangelists:

I’ve long been concerned by the educational technology pundits, Web 2.0pians as I like to call them, who herald every new web app as not only an earth-shaking revelation, but the end of school as we know it.

I do believe that those Mr. Stager criticizes are about more than just the tools; however, I have questioned that in an earlier post.   I think they reason they believe in the “end of school” (you just have to think about Neil Postman, don’t you?) is that they have a much wider reform agenda that espouses constructivist principles over all other types of pedagogy.  A very wise class member pointed out that this view is simply not aligned with the content-focused curriculum teachers work with in the standards based environment.

When I do presentations, I link the 21st century skills and Tom Friedman (neither of which Stager is a fan of) all the way back to my favorite leadership writer: Warren Bennis.  Rather than focus on particular technologies or pedagogies, we should focus on the essential story of school.  I would like to suggest that that story deals with helping kids become leaders.  Bennis believes a leader needs passion, curiosity and integrity.

Stager’s right: this isn’t new stuff.  Even the negative attitudes towards teachers aren’t new, in fact.  According to Cuban, it’s always the teachers who get blamed when innovations fail to take off.

    Leave a Reply

